The New Face Of Raiding

OK, by now I’m sure that you’ve all heard about the big shake up coming to raiding in Cataclysm. For those of you that haven’t, heard it yet, because you live under a rock or this is the only blog you read, well here’s the skinny. 10 and 25 man raid will share the same lock out in Cataclysm. So if you smack them down on the 25 man one night, you can’t go in the next night on 10 man and do it again. You will have to choose which version you want to run that week. Now for me, it’s not that big of a deal. Believe me, I would love to be able to run both 10 and 25 man ICC each week, but I just don’t have the time. However, I know that this change will affect the majority of DRC as we run 3, and here I thought it was 2, 10 mans.

Personally I like this move. I know that the 1337 raiders out there who think that all 10 mans are, are Blizzard placating the casuals. However, I don’t feel that way. I realize that not all guilds are able to get 25 people together at once. Hell, I’m sure some smaller guilds have 25 people in them that want to raid. So I can see the point to that.

The other big change is they are doing away with badges and going to points instead. They are going to have two different types of points eventually. The points for the current tier and points for the previous tier. No more downgrading badges multiple times to get that heirloom item or piece of gear that you’re missing, just spend the right kind of point and away you go.

Now I’ve been hitting the rounds to see what other bloggers have to say about these changes. From what I’ve seem so far, it seems to be that people are either thrilled by the change, or they are firing up the steamer to cook GC alive… I honestly didn’t give it much thought, because Duranub isn’t a hardcore raid group. That line of thought quickly ended after I popped on over to Belghast’s blog Tales of the Aggronaut and saw what he had to say. Now a lot of what he he said made me raise an eyebrow in concern. See in addition to the 25 man we run, we also have 3 different 10 mans also. My problem is I don’t have the time to run with any of the 3 10s. I know we’ve been struggling with the 25 man content, while the 10s are almost to Arthas. So here’s my dilemma. If DRC drops the 25 and just runs the 10s… I’m screwed.

See we have 3 hunters in our 25, for everyone’s’ sake lets call them Manny, Moe, and Jack. Jack will be played by me. Manny is always in the top 3 DPS. He’s our main puller, kiter, and lore master. Oh, and he’s a raid officer too. So my changes of me securing a spot over Manny are laughable at best. Moe is our other hunter. Moe’s advantage is Moe comes with a healer. Moe’s healer is an excellent healer on top of that. So, as a raid leader you could bring a single DPS by them self, or you could bring a DPS who also has an excellent healer attached. So that leaves us with Jack. A DPSer who comes al a carte, and is a puller and kiter when Manny isn’t there. Oh, and one more thing, Manny and Moe are already running with 2 of the 3 10s. Hell I didn’t even know about the 3rd until just recently.

So if DRC does switch to to just running 10s, I might be SOL for raiding. If that happens then what? Do I hope that more tanks and healers appear out of thin air? Do I move on? I was planning on making a Worgen warrior, but he was going to be a fury(or would that be a furry ๐Ÿ™‚ ) warrior. Should I go prot instead and make him my main? Ugh too many things to consider, and not enough info yet.

So until Next time don’t forget to reload, so you don’t run out of ammo.

2 Responses to “The New Face Of Raiding”

  1. Belghast Says:

    Hoping you read my bookend post from Thursday. Basically I write whatever I am feeling, and last Tuesday I was feeling that our world was coming to an end, because without all the people who run 10s we could not make DRC function. However I have come to my senses and realized that our 25 friend raids are worth fighting for.

    Cataclysm will greatly change our look and feel, and the guild rewards system may mean we stop raiding as Duranub and start raiding as House Stalwart. But nonetheless I want to try and make a 25 man raid fly because so many of the entertaining moments over the last 4+ years I have been actively raiding would have never occured in the more tightly sequestered 10 man. I have more than 10 friends, and that includes “Jack” too ๐Ÿ˜›

    I am kinda in the process of trying to pull in some of the satellite guilds into the core of House Stalwart. That way when cataclysm hits regardless of preference it will be centered on the guild, instead of letting people scatter to the four winds.

    • gweninu Says:

      I know man, it was just how I was feeling at the time. I know that the 10s are eaiser to manage than our 25s. I can completely understand where you are coming from. There are nights that get me frazzled and discouraged, and all I do is stand in the back and shoot ;).
      I’m sure Jack understands also.

Leave a Reply

