Taking A Second Look At Badges

Ok, ok, I have confession to make back in June I wrote an article called Badge of Dishonor.

Recently I’ve had an epiphany about badges and badge gear. As you might have noticed, I’ve been leveling a DK, and hit 80 not to long ago. After leveling another toon to 80, I’m experiencing something completely new. The gear grind that comes with not being a raiding main. I have always raided, from way back in the days of MC and before when Start, UBRS, and LBRS were 10 and 15 man runs. I would hit the level cap and then start raiding. Higher level raids meant better gear, better gear meant higher level raids.

In Wrath I hit 80 on Gwen in about a week, and then I started gearing up for Naxx. I didn’t have to run 5 mans over and over again to try to get tons of badges for gear, because I was working through content that I was geared for.

Flash forward to today, and I’ve hit 80 on my DK who isn’t geared up yet. DRC is working on tier 10 and getting geared up with it. No one runs Naxx any more, and there are few if any Ulduar runs to be found. I’ve been trying to run the random 5 mans as much as I can, the sheer amount of badges are a huge boost in covering the gear gap that a new 80 has to cover to be able to compete with older 80s. Slowly but surely he’s getting the gear he’s going to need to be able to start raiding if I want him to. Now that I’m in a position where I can use the badges, I see why Blizz did what they did. So I guess looking through the perfection of hind sight,yeah that was an elitist jackass post that I wrote. So please accept my humble apologies and bask in the glory of badges for one and all. So until next time, don’t forget to reload, so you don’t run out of ammo.

Leave a Reply

