A Lil Bit Of Ulduar, A Chunk Of The PTR

Sorry about the late update this week folks, but it’s worth the wait…hopefully. 🙂 Thursday has past bringing an end to our week in Ulduar. Most of the night was spent on cat cat lady with wipes aplenty. All I can say is her pull is the hardest and most frustrating part of the fight. We went through several different strategies before finding one that worked really well. We ended up having our new pally tank taking on 3 of the sentinels and Euron, our DK tank, pulling the 4th one away from the rest. This worked out extremely well, as it didn’t let the damage buff get to be unhealable, and we could quickly burn them all down. From there it was just a matter of getting the defender under control, which we did by having everyone clump up. After we got the clumping down it all started falling into place the Duranub way, which means a few more wipes followed by downing the boss with all tanks facedown and the rogues evasion tanking lol. Finally she went down, and guess what? She was being stingily with her bow, just like Kolo is being with his gun. Oh well maybe next week, I’ll have better luck.

WoWScrnShot_062509_231601

 

Now the real fun stuff. I’ve finally gotten into the PTR to start testing the changes to us hunters and our pets. Pet scaling was going to be a "big" for hunters in 3.2.

if a player is at their appropriate spell hit chance or hit chance maximum, their pet will be at the maximum for spell hit chance, hit chance, and expertise. If they are below the maximum, their pet will be proportionately below those maximums.

Last night I started testing how the changes to hit and expertise were working so far. According to the notes, if I’m hit capped my pet should be hit capped and expertise capped also. Right now, between gear and talents, I am over my hit cap. Now we get to the part where I’m not entirely sure on and I’m going on speculation based upon what I’ve seen so far, and from people that I’ve spoken to. IF what they say is true, my pet should miss a melee attack very rarely at if at all. What I want to find out is when a pet reaches hit cap, what percent of the time will it hit. I know that if I am at my hit cap, I will hit over 99% of the time. So lets take a look at how its turned out so far.

The only buff/debuff that I am using during testing are aspect of the dragonhawk and hunter’s mark. I shot off 2000 terrorshaft arrows, using serpent sting, auto, arcane, aimed, and steady shot. I forgot to remake my macro that combined steady shot and kill command. When I ran out of mana, I would switch to viper and pop rapid fire when it was up. Also I used bestial wrath wherever it was up.

Here’s the first results.

sushi PTR

Lets take a look at the break down of just the melee attacks. I chose to use this stat only for the base of my tests since it would have the results and give me the most accurate numbers in my option. Hmmmm 8.2% miss rate. That seems kinda… high for being at hit cap, 141 misses in all. I don’t think the Sushi is at hit cap yet, not by a long shot. Now next lets look at dodges and parries. Dodges are still happening way too much. According to the notes, with my hit cap reached, the amount of dodges should be way lower. My next step is 2 fold. I need to run the same tests on the live server and see what happens, and I need to check with some rogues I know to see what the melee hit cap is. Stay tuned to see what happens on the live servers and and how things compare. I’m probably  going to end up rerunning the PTR test using the SS and KC macro instead. So until next time kids, don’t forget to reload so you don’t run out of ammo.

Leave a Reply

