3.2 And You The Hunter

The new patch notes are up, and it seems to be pretty nerf free so far. Most of it is good news, and there is very little in the the way of meh and wtf news thankfully. Everything from ammo to pets to traps to aspects and more all get a little bit o’ love it seems this time around so lets take a look at them then shall we?

Engineering

The Ultrasafe Bullet Machine and Saronite Arrow Maker schematics have been simplified to create a full stack of the appropriate ammunition. No longer requires an anvil. Reduced the materials required to make this ammunition.

Wait…Wait… you mean no more mini stacks of 200 that have to be combined into 2 stacks of ammo now? Great it will be worth it if it makes 10 stacks of 1000 each. Will it happen? I can only hope so, since this will make me worship my local engineers (or my DK when he can make them.) Now the mats required to make them is being reduced also, sweet. The Saronite Arrow Maker was horrible with needing 15 saronite bars, so it will be interesting to see just how far it will go down. I know you engineers aren’t going to be to happy about this but… I’m really hoping that this one goes live just like they say.

Aspect of the Cheetah: Can now be learned at level 16.
Deterrence now has a new visual spell effect.

Well I guess the Aspect change is a good thing at 16, but you get a mount at 20 so…Meh. A new animation for deterrence, Ummm let me get this straight, a talent that’s so broken it’s useless, and we get a new spell effect instead of getting it fixed? Wow… just wow…

 

The time that traps will exist in the world after being put down has been reduced to 30 seconds, down from 1 minute.
Traps now have separate 30 second cool down categories: Fire (Immolation Trap, Explosive Trap and Black Arrow), Frost (Freezing Trap, Frost Trap) and Nature (Snake Trap). A hunter can have one trap of each category placed at one time.

It seems that traps are getting a big buff and a small nerf at the same time. They are only going to last for 30 seconds now, instead of 1 minute. With the time that that they stay active in the world cut in half, this gonna change how we utilize them in crowd control majorly. Time to relearn how to chain trap all over again :). Now I know it’s not a big nerf, but its something that is going to affect game play. Now I really love how they broke down the trap cool downs by family instead of lumping them all together again. This is going to be a huge bonus for PvP. I can just see it now throwing done a frost trap, followed by a snake trap, finished with an immolation all the while Sushi is nomming on them hehe.

All pets now receive 40% of their master’s resilience and 100% of their master’s spell penetration. In addition, if a player is at their appropriate spell hit chance or hit chance maximum, their pet will be at the maximum for spell hit chance, hit chance, and expertise. If they are below the maximum, their pet will be proportionately below those maximums.

Now for the biggest one of them all, that’s right I saved the best for last kids. Pet scaling is going to be implemented, kinda. I say kinda because its a start. I have a feeling it’s gonna reinforce the old stereotype that all loot is hunter loot, so watch out casters and melee cause all of your gear is belonging to us. The resilience isn’t that big of a deal for me, since I don’t PvP that much, and I haven’t really done any arenas on hunter. Spell Penetration that’s gonna be a tricky one for me, because of Sushi. Spell pen  doesn’t do jack for me as a hunter, but it does help my pets DPS. So clothies watch out I’m looking for you spell pen gear now too… Hit cap, glorious hit cap, how I’m more in love with having it maxed out. From what this says, as long as I’ve hit my hit cap so has my pet? Hmmm I’m not sure what the hit cap is for melee, and not sure if it gives the 99% chance to hit like ranged. However, IF it does… twitch….twitch…twitch… hmmm higher DPS and BM will be no longer be seen as a joke by people. I’ll be honest with the expertise portion. I really don’t know enough expertise and how much I would need to hit the cap. If it’s not too bad, I could see myself looking for gear that would include it. I know there are a good amount of rings, trinkets, and neck pieces that have agility or attack or crit, that also expertise on them. If my pet can get that extra bit of expertise that means the mob is less likely to dodge or parry, while very rarely missing at all, Then yes I am going to look into getting some items with some expertise. Now I know it’s not going to be as important for us as for the melee, so I do not advocate talking items with expertise over the melee as you’ll just end up hurting the raid in doing so.

All in all IF these changes do go through as they are then it will be a very good patch for hunters everywhere. So I’ll see you kids on the PTR and don’t forget to reload so you don’t run out of ammo.

Leave a Reply

